This is the "Open Access Home" page of the "Open Access & Low-Cost Publishing: Information & Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Open Access & Low-Cost Publishing: Information & Resources   Tags: bepress, education, internet, open_access, publishing  

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2008 URL: http://libguides.sacredheart.edu/content.php?pid=10916 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Open Access Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

NIH PubMed Central

NIH - PubMed Central

The National Institutes of Health provide access to a number of open access journals through their Web site.  See the Institutes’ PubMed Central Journals — Full List for coverage and search options.

 

BPress Journal List

The Berkeley Electronic Press (Bepress)

The Berkeley Electronic Press publishes a wide variety of scholarly materials online, including peer reviewed open access journals.

The Berkeley Electronic Press List of All Journals provides a list of journals published by BPress.

The Bepress ResearchNow database (available at http://researchnow.bepress.com) includes the list of peer-reviewed, Berkeley Electronic Press journals, as well as working papers and other grey literature from Bepress-hosted institutional repositories.

 

PLOS

The Public Library of Science  (PLOS)

The Public Library of Science is a nonprofit organization.  PLOS works to increase open access  to scientific and medical literature.

 

Nuts & Bolts Resources

Creative Commons

Creative Commons is a non-profit organization that provides informational resources and licensing agreement language for creators designed to support and expand the public domain.

DSpace

DSpace is an open source software package for managing digital assets.

 

What is "Open Access"?

The Budapest Open Access Initiative uses the term “open access” to refer to materials that are free and that are available, without restriction, on the Web.  The Initiative identifies the great promise of historic development and encourages international support for open access publishing:  

“An old tradition and a new technology have converged to make possible an unprecedented public good. The old tradition is the willingness of scientists and scholars to publish the fruits of their research in scholarly journals without payment, for the sake of inquiry and knowledge. The new technology is the internet. The public good they make possible is the world-wide electronic distribution of the peer-reviewed journal literature and completely free and unrestricted access to it by all scientists, scholars, teachers, students, and other curious minds. Removing access barriers to this literature will accelerate research, enrich education, share the learning of the rich with the poor and the poor with the rich, make this literature as useful as it can be, and lay the foundation for uniting humanity in a common intellectual conversation and quest for knowledge.”

From The Budapest Open Access Initiative

Budapest Hungary, 2002

 

Richard Baraniuk

Richard Baraniuk giving an intriguing video presentation on TED entitled “Goodbye, Textbooks; Hello, Open-Source Learning”

 

Alliance for Taxpayer Access (ATA)

Alliance for Taxpayer Access (ATA)

ATA is an alliance of organizations established to represent the interests of American taxpayers in “open access on the Internet to the peer-reviewed scientific articles on research funded by the U.S. Government.”

 

Directory of Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals

This directory provides records for more than 3,400 open access scholarly journals available in full-text.

 

OpenDOAR

OpenDOAR

OpenDOAR—the Directory of Open Access Repositories—provides a list of academic open access repositories as well as search screens to aid in locating repositories and content.

 

Open Society Institute, Information Program

Open Society Institute, Information Program

 The OSI Information Program provides resources to encourage more equitable access to, and use of, knowledge and communications resources.  The Information Program site includes a page containing open access Resource Links.

 

Contact Info

Edited by:

Patrick Gavin gavinp@sacredheart.edu

Rob (Buck) Berry berryr@sacredheart.edu

  

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip