This is the "Home" page of the "Newspapers: History in the Making" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Events and opinions as reported in general newspapers shed light on the issues and perspectives of a time and place in history, often including primary source material (photographs, quotations for principals, etc.). This LibGuide focuses on SHU resources
Last Updated: Apr 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sacredheart.edu/newspapers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

News & Journalism Museums

Newseum (Washington, D.C.) -  a 250,000-square-foot museum of news — offers visitors an experience that blends five centuries of news history with up-to-the-second technology and hands-on exhibits.  Some online images, information, and videos; online exhibitions: http://www.newseum.org/exhibits-and-theaters/online-exhibits/index.html

Multimedia Journalism - online exhbition on current multimedia & flash journalism on ELearning Examples blog.

Missouri School of Journalism Timeline - online images of news reporting from the state's first newspaper (1808) until the founding of the first School of Journalism (1908).

University of Missouri, Columbia  School of Journalism Archives & Museum - online catalog of historical artifacts from the journalism museum (formerly separate, now part of  the library system); online exhibitions of images specific to the University's history.

The UnMuseum: Hoax Journalism - amusing fabricated "news" stories, including those by otherwise serious writers such as Mark Twain, Benjamin Franklin, and Edgar Allen Poe.

Museum of Broadcast Communications - includes the National Radio Hall of Fame and Museum.TV; online exhibitions of classic TV and commercials; online encyclopedias of television, radio, and commercials.

Joe Sacco: Comics as Journalism - online exhibition of cartoons reflecting on war in Bosnia-Serbia-Croatia.

 

QuickSearch for Books, etc. in the Library

Search below to find a book, DVD, etc., or to see which volumes of journals are in the library (print or electronic):

Select Type of Search, Fill in Search Terms, and Press Enter

Find more tips on using the catalogues in the Searching the Catlog LibGuide.  Ask a Reference Librarian to help you target your catalogue search.

To find journal articles on specific topics, use the electronic databases to search by keyword, subject, author, etc (A-Z list of databases. Best bets include:
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
  • ABI Inform Dateline
  • Expanded Academic ASAP
  • General OneFile
  • General Reference Center Gold
  • Hartford Courant
  • Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)
  • History in Context (Gale/Cengage)
  • JSTOR
  • Project Muse

Journals in the library collection of particular interest include:

The IRE journal [electronic resource].

Newspaper research journal [electronic resource].

Media history monographs [electronic resource].

 

 

Newseum Featured Video

View the development and construction of the Newseum's exhibition of artifacts from the September 11th terrorist attacks on the United States, "War on Terror: The FBI's New Focus".

 

Primary Source Research

Newspapers provide critical primary source information for research in history, politics, social sciences, literature, and the arts.  You may find quotations from and  interviews of both well-known newsmakers and individuals who experienced the events you're studying.  It can also be revealing to see

  • when a subject or terminology is first covered (e.g. "abolition", "learning disability", "terrorism")
  • where a story is covered (front page or second section? women's page? arts & culture? sports? opinion?)
  • national, local, or interest group newspaper
  • advertising placed near a story
  • letters to the editor responding to a story

Be aware the electronic editions of newspaper articles do not always include collateral information such as contemporaneous advertisements and story placement.  Because newsprint paper is difficult to preserve, older original copies aren't kept in the library collection.  Microfilm or digitized images of complete newspaper editions allow you to see content in the same context as it was originally published.

Cover Art
The Vanishing Newspaper - Philip Meyer
Call Number: eBrary ebook
ISBN: 9780826218582
Publication Date: 2009-09-01

Cover Art
The power of news - Michael Schudson.
Call Number: PN4888.T4S38 1995
ISBN: 0674695860
Publication Date: 1995
Describes 300 years of American journalism and the news media's emergence as a central institution of modern society, a key repository of common knowledge and cultural authority.

Cover Art
The information-literate historian : a guide to research for history students - Jenny L. Presnell.
Call Number: D16.2 .P715 2007
ISBN: 9780195176520
Publication Date: 2007
A primer for students of history with emphasis on primary source research.

Newspaper research journal [electronic resource]. - Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.
Call Number: SHU e-Journal
ISSN: 0739-5329; a refereed journal published quarterly; "Comprehensively answers questions about U.S. newspaper performance and related topics of interest. Significant themes of research range from balance and fairness to the use of computer analysis in newspaper reporting." Fully indexed at http://www.newspaperresearchjournal.org/

Cover Art
How to do media & cultural studies [electronic resource] - Jane Stokes.
Call Number: eBrary
ISBN: 0761973281
Publication Date: 2003
An overview of the principal methods that can be used by undergraduates researching the role of media in society.

Cover Art
Citizen lobbyists [electronic resource] : local efforts to influence public policy - Brian E. Adams.
Call Number: eBrary
ISBN: 1592135692
Publication Date: 2007
Discusses the role of news reporting in local political action by citizens groups.


Cover Art
Beyond the lines [electronic resource] : pictorial reporting, everyday life, and the crisis of gilded-age America - Joshua Brown.
Call Number: ACLS eBook
ISBN: 9780520248144
Publication Date: 2003
"The book illuminates in highly original ways how Gilded Age [reporters and] engravers both shaped and reflected popular views regarding race, ethnicity, and labor strife."-

Cover Art
The form of news : a history - Kevin G. Barnhurst, John Nerone.
Call Number: PN4749.B29 2001
ISBN: 1572306378
Publication Date: 2001
Discusses the evolution of news reporting as "a source of the public information that is essential for the citizenry to make informed political choices."


The Newsprint mask : the tradition of the fictional journalist in America - introduced and edited by Welford Dunaway Taylor.
Call Number: PN4832.N49 1990
ISBN: 9780813806822
Publication Date: 1991
"The book makes its point about the viability of the fictional journalist as a satiric commentator on current affairs, and it will be of interest to scholars and students of American literature, humor, and journalism."

Cover Art
Keith Kyle, reporting the world [electronic resource] - Keith Kyle.
Call Number: eBrary eBook
ISBN: 9781848850002
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Reporting from Washington [electronic resource] : the history of the Washington press corps - Donald A. Ritchie.
Call Number: eBrary eBook
ISBN: 0195178610
Publication Date: 2005
Political news reporting from the Great Depression to today.

Cover Art
The American history highway [electronic resource] : a guide to Internet resources on U.S., Canadian, and Latin American history - Dennis A. Trinkle and Scott A. Merriman, editors.
Call Number: eBrary eBook
ISBN: 9780765616296
Publication Date: 2007
Recommended sources and methods for primary source research.


Cover Art
Lessons from Ground Zero: media response to terror - Ralph Izard (Editor); Jay Perkins (Editor)
Call Number: HV6432.7 .L45 2011
ISBN: 9781412813365
Publication Date: 2010-10-13
Examines journalism's efforts to cover a crisis, while analyzing journalism itself.

Cover Art
Newspapers - Hartmut Walravens; International Federation of Library Associations Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: eBrary ebook
ISBN: 9783110253252
Publication Date: 2011-04-19

Reference Librarian & Guide to Information Jungle

Ask the Librarian

Submit your questions online; a reference librarian will post answers on the Library website, and answers will be mailed directly to you.

 

Subject Headings

Abracadabra! To find the resources you want, use the "magic words" (the official Subject terms used in the library catalogue and to describe articles and books in our databases). Information science professionals have agreed on certain key phrases to describe the subjects of library materials. Use these terms in a subject search. If you'd like help selecting the best words or phrases, as your reference librarian for assistance. The Sacred Heart University libraries use the system developed by the Library of Congress for multi-disciplinary research libraries. Some important subject headings for your research include:

  • American Newspapers
  • Broadcast Journalism
  • Digital Media
  • Illustrated Periodicals
  • Journalism
  • Journalism [geographic location] history (to identify historical records of journalism)
  • Newspaper Layout and Typography
  • Newspapers
  • Online Journalism
  • Reporters and Reporting

Browse Journalism and Communications journals from the eJournal homepage; use the drop-down subject menu.

Search the library catalogue for periodicals using the SUBJECT headings:

  • Journalism Periodicals
  • Newspapers Periodicals
  • [Geographic Location] Newspapers (to identify newspapers at the library for specific cities and countries, e.g. "Addis Ababa (Ethiopia) Newspapers")

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip